#1-5.

Metalgrid paint

#1. The Beatles – Revolver (1966)

Though this list isn’t in order with albums ranging from “good to better” where some are ranked higher and some lower, nope, in this ranking they all are equally good and deserve being listened at. Well, regarding that little fact, I cannot not start the list with this album not being listed as number one.

There’s a lot of things to say about this Beatles album and a lot of things I, personally, could say about this very album days (my absolute favourite, actually), but I won’t. I could go on and on for days. It is just a perfect masterpiece, a pretty sweet album where every track matters and every song is just a HIT by its own weight, 14 songs that BLOW YOU AWAY, there isn’t a single day on this life I don’t listen to this album. Oh my, dude, this shit is some shit.

Though being released on 1966, it still sounds fresh to this day, and still surprises me with little details here and there that I discover every day in its songs.
Really, if you don’t like The Beatles or haven’t listened to them at all, dude, I really feel sorry for you, Nowhere man, you don’t know what you’re missing. (get it?) This album alone started a lot of things and did left his print in every rocker’s heart that would arise in later years to come.
Simply put the BEST album ever. And not just according to me, nope.

Favourite track: I’m sorry, I can’t list just one, please, just listen to them all.

Bathory‘s Quorthon covering I’m Only sleeping from Revolver:

#2. Cynic – Focus (1993)

Everyone should at least have a notion of who these guys are. And furthermore, everyone should listen to Cynic, that MUST be some kind of law. This album in particular, although being pretty short (less than 35 minutes in its original release) is a pretty masterpiece, a jewel you must not let pass you by.
Notice that it was released in 1993, these dudes were ahead of its time by a long shot and one of the first to mix jazz and metal as one. I’m sure I don’t even have to mention the list of artists these dudes have influenced, you notice immediately when listening to those bands Cynic has touched.
In 2004 Focus was Re-released with over 70 minutes of mind-blowing songs.

Favourite track: Veil of Maya.

 #3. Quo Vadis – Defiant Imagination (2004)

What can I say about these Canadians? The work Quo Vadis does is MARVELOUS, the only thing I would criticize about them is the low amount of albums they’ve done in the recent years and how their line-up have changed so much, especially in these late years, making their work somewhat inconsistent. This is the last album they have released, they released 2 live albums/DVDs after this, some songs alone and nothing much aside from that. If Quo Vadis would have released an album every other year, they would be fucking MASSIVELY BIG.

These dudes are the kind of band that you’ll never get tired of, I could listen to them every day and I won’t ever get tired of them, a thing I actually do. I’ve been listening these guys since a long time ago and I still feel like a kid in a candy store.

Favourite track: Dead man’s diary. 

#4. Dissection – Storm of the Light’s Bane (1995)

This one is a must listen, a must, one of the finest metal albums ever. Swedish band Dissection (and this album in particular) is a safe bet when it comes to some sweet metal tracks and spooky atmospheres.
It is a shame how main composer, vocalist and guitarist Jon Nödtveidt ended all hope about new Dissection releases when he took his own life in 2006. A shame indeed, because I’m sure he’d still be doing some sick work as composer, though Dissection’s sound changed drastically in its last album Reinkaos (2006)
The cover artwork of the album is pretty cool as well, and as every Dissection artwork (and so many bands more), is done by album cover artist Kristian Wåhlin (check out his job visiting his Official Website and the list of artcover he’s done ).

Favourite track: Where dead angels lie (holy shit that scream).

#5. Dark Tranquility – damage done (2002)

Damage Done is my favourite album – and I believe many agrees with me on this little thing – by Swedish Melodic Death Metal band Dark Tranquility.
These dudes really know how to mix it all, melodies and pure raw metal and death in one pure blow that knocks you down the moment you listen to them, this album proves that and much more. Dark Tranquility must be one of the most consistent metal bands, releasing lots of albums on their early days, not so much now, though, that’s something that makes me sad, but they’re still at it. One of the few that still remains alive from the Gothenburg metal scene, They deserve everything they have, they have won it with hard work, sweat and FUCKING SWEET SONGS.

Favourite track: Final Resistance.

One thought on “#1-5.

Leave a comment (Say something bitch!)

